Korean Actors I Want to See More (2020 edition) – part 2

I am baccckkk. As I have mentioned on my previous post, there are too many actors that I admire this year. Therefore, here is the part two. Go check part 1 to see if you have any favorites there too. I believe in this post, you’ll find some unfamiliar names. I consider myself as anti-mainstream so often times, my favorites are some weird names that people don’t really pay attention to. Belongs to those who usually are supporting characters.
This post is a fun list, and they are not ranked. It will contain names that I watched their works in 2020, but that does not mean only including 2020 dramas.

New Faces!
This year, I want to say “thank you” to all these new faces because I could get through the quarantine time with them. Consequently when you watch too many dramas, you automatically encounter many new-dazzling-talented actors. Not to mention, the handsomeness that lights up your gloomy days 🙂 are exactly what you need.
They are not necessarily new actors, some of them have been around for a while. Since this is about my favorites, and I just “met” them this year, I put them in New Faces categories.

1. Yoo Teo (Chocolate, Money Game 2020)
I remember how my eyes were set to Yoon Kye Sang’s best friend on drama – Chocolate, without knowing or overly curious of who he was. Then, not long after watching Chocolate, I tried Money Game. Andd bamm! my respect was doubled. In one year, I saw him on two dramas with two very opposite characters. He was a sweet ‘best friend’ that fell in love with the female lead’s character, then he came back STRONGER with his deep stares but with a soft heart on Money Game. That made me dig more on who Yoo Te Oh is. The actor was out and about international-wise and he actually lives in Europe got married with a woman 11 years older than her, and he is just amazing! LOL… a true artist. A very talented and charming in his works and posts.

Yoo Teoh


2. Lee Hak joo (Sweet Munchies, 2019)
He has been around and gradually showing so much potential. Villain, annoying character, or in my case, a very sweet gay character on Sweet Munchies that made me “buy” him. Episode 10 of Sweet Munchies hit me the most. He conveys the best emotion I can imagine. I am always down for actors who can deliver a raw and natural emotion, and Lee Hak Joo is one of them. There is so much more of him that can captivate viewers’ emotions too. I just hope he gets many many good characters ahead. At the same time, I also feel that he can convey a realistic emotion even on a mediocre characters :).

Sweet Munchies

3. Han Joon Woo (Be Melodramatic, 2019)
Another potential talent in the making. He first appeared on Be Melodramatic caught my attention right away. Not long after watching him on Be Melodramatic, I watched him briefly on My Unfamiliar Family, and that sealed my attention to him. He has potential. Especially when he starred on Be Melodramatic as it is not your “average” drama, it requires so much complexities. He is one of the good casts that director Lee Byeong Hun made. I am longing to see him moreeeee.


4. Ha Joon (Black Dog, 2019 & Missing: The Other Side, 2020)
Oh yes, another actor with not so much in the “face” department, but more on the talents. I am not saying he is not the handsome actor, just his looks indeed not so “star striking.” But maaaan his acting can change him into a very charismatic person. I watched him on Black Dog and also on Missing: the other side. I must say that his hair style in Black Dog is the best haha. The short semi-military hair powdered him as the charismatic character which I fell hard for. The sentimental side on Missing: the other side touched my heart even further. Hope to see him more in amazing characters.



Honorable Mentions
Even though, I am a hardcore fan of ahjussi-actors, I have discovered many talented “younger” actors that made me swoon :).
1. Shin Jae Ha (My Unfamiliar Family, 2020)
I briefly saw him on Prison Playbook (tvN, 2017) and was slightly impressed. Then, his performance on My Unfamiliar Family gave me a bang. He became not your average little brother character. There is so much more in depth. The confusion, the immaturity, the growth part are all well-portrayed by him 🙂


2. Ong Seong Woo (Moments at 18, 2019)
Never followed any news or clips about 101. I just knew bits of news about the members on random variety shows. His character on Moments at 18 captivated me to the core. I never been so fan-girling with a younger actor like this much. I was mesmerized by the way he interpreted the character. The chemistry between his character and the leading girl, the mother, the teacher, the friends, and the antagonist were all perfecto. His character on Moments at 18 is one of top fave characters watched in 2020 for sure :).

101
Moments at 18


3. Song Geon Hee (Mystic Pop-up Bar and Missing: the other side, 2020)
Subtly but surely, he captured my attention. He was the king on Mystic Pop-up Bar and an “old soul” on Missing: on the other side. The character on Missing: on the other side was interesting. He is one of the young casts in the drama, but plays as “the oldest.” There was a subtly wisdom coming from his upbringing that made me notice him more. His performance on Mystic Pop-up Bar was also not disappointing. When an actor made me notice even in the most “obvious” or “mediocre” character, he or she has more potential than average. Song Geon Hee is one of them.



Become a Fave.
These names are those whom I never paid attention to, or they did not catch much of my attention on their past works. Nevertheless, after some time and some works, I grow fond of them :).

1. Kim Ji Seok (My Unfamiliar Family, 2020)
If we can give the best character award – Park Chan Hyuk wins anonymously! Kim Ji Seok as Park Chan Hyeok conveys one of the most logical and charming character I have ever witnessed. Not boldly as a perfect man character, but like an ordinary man who is just super sweet and seeing things in logical ways. Thus, every words that he says sound so wise and we get to understand why the female lead falls in love with his character. I never really paid attention on him until this very recent drama. Though, I have watched him since the X-man days back in my college years.

2. Ji Seon Kyu (Extreme Job, 2019)
Too much of villain characters made him stand out when he plays the comical character on Extreme Job! He suits the character sooooo welllllll. He actually suits to a comical character. Not only that, I spotted him as a monk on The Priest, he looks so good as a calm monk. Versatile, that’s the word for him. Wishing him to have a more various characters in the future. As a good father? As a charismatic director? Bravo bravo…


3. Jo Woo Jin (The Battle: Roar to Victory, 2019)
Have seen him in a lot of movies and dramas, and I was “seduced” by his fierce sexiness as a sniper on the Battle with a long hair haha.. His stares are piercing and his low voice is so manly despite his petite figure compared to other South Korean actors. Definitely put him on my fave ahjussi lists slash super supporting actor lists in the future.

4. Lee Moo Saeng (Designated Survivors: 60 days, 2019)
2019 to 2020 is his year. Many people were loving his character on the World of Marriage, but I got him by amazement on Designated Survivors. It was like a confirmation that he is indeed a good actor. I am always melted whenever seeing how a mere supporting character got a small highlight by having his little moment weeping for his boss’ passing. That very scene convinced me that he is meant to be a great actor. Watched many clips of him on the World of Marriage and I am convinced that he deserved to get better roles.


Special Love
Ah… the entire universe must know that these three names have made my world upside down haha. Kicking all the names that I fancy, these actors have topped my list the most. Coincidentally I have watched their works the most in this year, and am fully amazed by their talents and their handsomeness.

1. Son Sukku (Designated Survivors: 60 days)
“Excuse me Commander” that line made it all lol. He really is peculiarly charming. Since I watched him on Matrimonial Chaos back in 2017, I knew that he was an interesting actor. Nevertheless, at that time, there was so little news about him. Nothing much than a name Son Sukku and a short list of his works (close to none). Then, I watched him on second half of Be Melodramatic. Interested more on him more than ever. Many characters on Be Melodramatic was a bit unique; only him (actors-wise) whom I thought was successfully conveying the peculiarity of his character. In the end, his character as secretary Cha on Designated Survivors: 60 Days stirred my strong list of favorites. He is on top of it. Like number one for now. Why? He was not acting!!!! His breathing, his gesture, his pupil, everything he did seems like him on the screen. Nothing felt artificial. Did he even read the script? That’s what I thought. I am a naturalist when talking about drama or acting, so he is indeed feeding all my hunger.


2. Kim Jun Han (Hospital Playlist, 2020)
If everybody goes to Han Ji Pyeong for a second lead syndrome, I rooted to Ahn Chi Hong played by Kim jun Han. Well, I was swayed by Kim Seon Ho for sure (HE IS ALSO MY FAVE LONG BEFORE START UP), but my underdog soul rooted more on a character like Ahn Chi Hong. Kim Jun Han has been around for a while now. First drama I spotted was on Prison Playbook as Haerongie’s boyfriend. Sweet but low-key character. Hearing many news that he has been in a lot of movies, but made it just alright till he was paired with Jeon Mi Do’s second love-interest. Thanks to Shin Won Ho Pd uploading many audition clips, we got to see the real Kim Jun Han – a mischievous character actually he is. So, it was so great to see how he could be that gentle as Ahn Chi Hong and won a few more scores. Well, actually his character on Hospital Playlist was my most fave character haha… (excuse my antimainstream soul). Sadly, he would only be on season 1 of Hospital Playlist, but I hope his character on the drama had done enough to make him get more and more awesome projects!


3. Kim Juhun (It’s Ok Not to be OK, 2020 and Designated Survivors, 2019)
Another naturalist in da house. For a “typical” Korean drama sidekick-character on It’s Ok Not to be OK he impressed me. His character is a definite “side dishes” on IONTBO but, he made it outstanding by being so natural. Then, watched him teary eyes on Designated Survivors and wore doctor gowns handsomely on Dr. Romantic 2 and Dodosolsollalasol, I immediately worshipped him. A good example of how good theatrical actors are. His background was staged actor, so no wonder that he could deliver such a realistic emotions. Plus, the more I see him, the handsomer he gets haha.

Bonus:!!
Ahn Jung Hwan!!!!
I never imagined my self drawn so much to an MC. Forget Yoo Jae Suk or Kang Ho Dong, this man right here is my style haha. He was a former (super) famous soccer player. During 2020, I binge-watched all of the Please Take Care of My Refrigerator series and I fell in love with him super witty self. He is not a typical South Korean MC who is a bit into noisy type haha… He is calm, but it only took him one sentence each time to make me laugh. I was always on KBS or TvN side when talking about variety shows; thus, I missed a lot of his shows. He has been on Dad, Where are We Going (MBC), Care Free Traveler (JTBC) and where I hooked, Please Take Care of my Refrigerator (JTBC). Similar to Straightforward Lee Seo Jin. I am dying to see him under Na PD’s shows!!!!

Truly, 2020 is something. But, I must admit that the whole quarantine thing makes me meeting these lot. I am truly grateful that they accompany me through out the year. My definition of favorite actors are those who just not solely depend on an A-list type of drama, or a pure handsome-good looking gentleman, but the whole combination of talent and the story that they bring in. It does not matter if they are on the main lead or just appears on an episode or two. It does not matter if they are a mere supporting characters. Whether they are protagonists or antagonists, as long as they showcase a natural side of their acting, I am in!!!
I hope you found these names interesting, and go watch their works 🙂

Cheers

CVB

Leave a comment